Germany offers three named routes in the 2026 guide: the EU Blue Card for graduates above a salary floor, the points-based Opportunity Card (Chancenkarte) job-seeker visa, and a freelance visa in cities like Berlin. There is no digital nomad visa and no retirement visa as such. The guide scores Germany just 44/100 for visa and bureaucracy — the lowest of its care-and-work dimensions — so expect the paperwork stage, measured in weeks on every plan tier, to be the hard part.
The three routes the guide names
EU Blue Card — described in the guide as the route for graduates above a salary floor, and listed again in its schemes as the EU Blue Card with fast-track PR.
Opportunity Card (Chancenkarte) — a points-based job-seeker visa: you come to look for work rather than arriving with a job already secured.
Freelance visa — listed as available in cities like Berlin; the guide's remote-work section calls it the Freelance (Freiberufler) visa.
Two absences are stated plainly in the guide: there is no nomad visa — remote work for a foreign employer needs a residence permit — and no retirement visa as such (see the Retirement page for how retirees apply instead).
The income tests — what the sources actually say
For the EU Blue Card, the guide gives the test in relative terms only: a job above a salary floor, for graduates. It does not print a euro figure for that floor, so this page does not invent one.
For the Opportunity Card, both sources describe it only as points-based — neither prints the points threshold, the qualifying criteria, or any funds figure.
For the freelance visa, neither source states an income or savings test at all. At the guide's exchange rate of $1 ≈ €0.86, any euro figure you are quoted converts at roughly that rate for planning — but confirm the current salary floor and points rules with the consulate before filing, because the guide does not state them.
What the paperwork costs — plan budgets, not government fees
The guide does not list individual government visa fees. What it gives is a bundled “Visa, permits & translations” budget line in each move plan — described in the plans as covering government fees, apostilles and translations — and those lines are the only sourced cost figures for the application itself:
- $1,000 — Affordable plan (you file yourself)
- $1,400 — Mid-range and Retirement plans
- $3,400 — Luxury plan (the plan notes the luxury tier adds an immigration lawyer)
The Retirement plan carries one further, separate line: $2,650 for “Retirement visa, lawyer & pension certification”, covering an immigration lawyer, apostilled pension letters, medicals and translations.
Application steps and timelines, by tier
The guide builds the application into each plan's timeline rather than printing a single step list. The common sequence across the plans and checklists is:
- Choose the route first and print its requirements; the Affordable checklist starts with “Visa route chosen and requirements printed.”
- Gather and legalise documents — apostilles and translations are named in every tier; the Retirement paperwork stage adds pension or income letters certified and apostilled, a police certificate, a medical, and birth and marriage certificates translated.
- Check your passport — the Affordable checklist requires a passport valid 18+ months.
- Arrange health insurance before you file (see the Hospitals page for the guide's first-year insurance budgets).
- File — yourself on the Affordable tier, or with a lawyer or agent on the Mid-range, Luxury and Retirement tiers.
Paperwork-stage durations in the guide: ~10 weeks filing yourself (Affordable), ~8 weeks with a lawyer or agent filing (Mid-range), ~6 weeks with a lawyer filing everything (Luxury), and ~14 weeks for the Retirement paperwork stage. After the move, the settle stage includes registering your address and opening a bank account — registration is a real step in Germany on every tier, handled by an agent on the Mid-range plan and by the relocation firm on the Luxury plan.
Renewals and the path to residency — the honest limit of the guide
The one pathway statement the sources make is in the schemes list: the EU Blue Card comes “with fast-track PR.” Neither the guide nor the site data gives the number of years that fast track takes, the renewal intervals for any route, or any absence limits, so this page does not state them. Treat the fast-track permanent-residency pathway as confirmed in principle by both sources, and the timetable as something to confirm with an immigration lawyer or the consulate before you rely on it — the Retirement and Luxury plans' lawyer lines exist for exactly this kind of question.
Frequently asked questions
What visa routes does the guide name for Germany?
Three: the EU Blue Card for graduates above a salary floor, the points-based Opportunity Card (Chancenkarte) job-seeker visa, and a freelance visa in cities like Berlin. There is no digital nomad visa and no retirement visa as such.
What salary do I need for the EU Blue Card?
The guide states the test only as a job 'above a salary floor' for graduates — it prints no euro figure for the floor, and neither does the site data. Confirm the current floor with the consulate before filing rather than planning around a figure this guide never states.
Can I work remotely for a foreign employer in Germany?
Not on a nomad visa — the guide states there is none. Its remote-work route is the Freelance (Freiberufler) visa, and it says remote work for a foreign employer needs a residence permit.
How much should I budget for the visa paperwork itself?
The guide's bundled 'Visa, permits & translations' line is $1,000 if you file yourself (Affordable plan), $1,400 on the Mid-range and Retirement plans, and $3,400 on the Luxury plan. Retirees should add the separate $2,650 retirement visa, lawyer and pension certification line. The guide does not break out individual government fees.
How long does the paperwork stage take?
In the guide's plans: about 10 weeks filing yourself, about 8 weeks with a lawyer or agent filing, about 6 weeks on the Luxury plan, and about 14 weeks for the Retirement paperwork stage, which includes certifying and apostilling pension letters. Germany scores just 44/100 for visa and bureaucracy in the guide, so build in slack.